Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Belly dancing is an art form that goes back many centuries, though it is unknown how old this dance style truly is. In the modern world it has taken on many forms and one of its most seductive (in my not-so-humble opinion) is modern tribal dance.

Kira1

Kira Lebedeva, aka Habibi Lal

One of the most exotic of the modern tribal bellydancers is Ukrainian-born Kira Lebedeva, also known by her stage name Habibi Lal. I first encountered her on YouTube while searching for samples of belly dance music. This is when I found her video from Tribal Beatfest 2016. I sat stunned for the full 4:16 while this amazing woman performed the most seductive dance I’d ever seen. She seemed as a statue of a goddess in a temple come to life, absolute divinity. I spent the next hour or so watching video after video, unable to look away. She was Babalon incarnate. A small tribute to her here is appropriate for that reason.

Here are a couple of my favorite Habibi Lal videos:

Tribal Fest (Bucharest) 2014

Tribal Salon (Helsinki, Finland) 2016

If you like what you see, you can find more on Kira’s YouTube channel, or visit her website at www.habibilal.com

